Why do I have faith in American Democracy?

Alan Myron
3 min readJan 10, 2019

Simple. Because Sanders demonstrated that people across the political spectrum recognize the value of integrity, courage, honesty, and common sense.

But we need to be careful. It is really depressing to see how strong candidates who can unite the country and encourage us to dream (not to fear) are being attacked by the current political establishment. I have been called a troll, paid staff, fake. Why? Simply because I spend my time trying to introduce others to Representative Tulsi Gabbard.

She makes it easy, her record is full of cases where she demonstrated foresight, intelligence, courage, empathy, and strength.

Those qualities are not only appreciated by the left, or the right. These are qualities that we all want for our leaders.

Those words I wrote back in November 2016, ring true today.

“Why did I change my profile picture?
Because I don’t condone riots.
Because just as with Bernie’s defeat I understand what drives the “other” side.
We won’t be caught unprepared.
We should not push a weak candidate.
We ought to find common ground.
And we must do what is best for America.

Tulsi Gabbard is such a person. Google her, follow her, and once you are convinced: Promote her.

This is a person of integrity, morals, courage, compassion, intelligence, and strength.

Four years may look like a long time. It is not. First we need to convince her to run, and then rally behind her.

Because that’s democracy.”

And in these last few years, I have made great friends across the political spectrum. Here is but a sample of some of their comments.

“I love Tulsi, and I do wholeheartedly agree that she is the best for our country. I believe our country and the future of the world is very important. I trust her wholeheartedly. I believe she is a great person, honorable, brave, intelligent, compassionate, and she stands up for what she believes.” -Gay friend

“ Once again, thank you for turning me into Tulsi. I am not a democrat, but by god she shows me there are at least a few sane ones left.” -Very conservative friend

“Rebels everywhere seem to have looked at one another and gone, “F*ck this. Let’s lift up that lady [Tulsi] they’re all scared of.”” -Very progressive friend

Tulsi has the potential to be a leader for all of America, not only for the members of one particular party. She can help us with her leadership and example attain social cohesion.

The only thing missing is for Tulsi to announce, and in case you think Tulsi and Bernie running at the same time is a bad idea, I’ve thought about it too, and I think it would be the best case scenario.

So what do you say? Can we reinvent Democracy? Can we bring Democracy to the 21st century? With a candidate like Tulsi Gabbard, the answer is clear.

“Aloha!”

--

--

Alan Myron

I believe in the goodness of mankind even when the evidence proves the contrary. Engineer by day, Poet in my dreams, and 100% AMERICAN every waking moment.